This is how you can restore your deleted Google Drive files.

The trash folder on Drive was accidentally emptied? Discover how to recover files from Google Drive that you have permanently deleted.

As soon as you delete a file or folder from Google Drive, that file or folder is moved to the trash folder. Deleted files are kept in the trash for a period of 30 days, and then they are permanently deleted. You can undelete the deleted file by right-clicking it in the trash can and selecting Restore from the menu.




Restore Permanently Deleted Files

The files will be permanently deleted from your Google Drive if you fail to restore the deleted file within the 30-day window, or if you have manually emptied the trash folder.

Google Support may however be able to restore the deleted files for you if you contact them.

  1. Go to support.google.com/drive?p=file_recovery and sign-in with the Google account you used to delete the file.

  2. To confirm that you wish to restore your deleted files from Google Drive, enter your first and last names and check the consent box.



You will receive email correspondence from drive-noreply@google.com confirming that your email has been received and that your files may take up to 48 hours in order to be restored. (Usually, it takes less than 12 hours to complete).


During this process, you are advised to avoid emptying the trash while Google recovers your files. It is also important to note that when this process is carried out, any files that you have uploaded yourself to Google Drive may also be recovered.


Important to know

If you do not own the file, you will not be able to restore it through this process.


As soon as the restoration procedure is complete, Google Support will send you another email confirming that the files have been restored. In order to restore the permanently deleted files and folders, you need to open your Google Drive and they will appear in their original locations.


Those steps are only applicable to individuals with individual Google accounts. It is important to note that if you have a Google Workspace account, you will have to get in touch with your domain administrator. Additionally, the restoration process restores deleted files and folders, not just individual files.


Thank You

Meni Tasa

1 view0 comments