Top 3 WhatsApp security features

Updated: Aug 21

Hi Everyone.


Today we're going to look at all the amazing security features that WhatsApp has to offer.


Let's get started.


Disappearing Messages - Great feature to increase your Privacy!

Messages can be set to disappear 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days after being sent by turning on disappearing messages. Messages that have already been sent or received will not be affected.

Also you can enable or disable disappearing messages in an individual chat and also in a group chat. However, group admins can set group settings so that only admins can turn off disappearing messages.



Messages disappear from WhatsApp if a user doesn't open it in 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days. The preview may still appear in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.

If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after the duration you select.

If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat.

If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup.

The feature is not bulletproof, so there is still a possibility that someone could:

  • Forward or take a screenshot of a disappearing message and save it before it disappears.

  • Copy and save content from the disappearing message before it disappears.

  • Take a photo of a disappearing message with a camera or other device before it disappears.

To turn disappearing messages on or off: Android | iPhone | Web and Desktop


To turn on disappearing messages by default for all new individual chats.

  • IPhone and Android: Go to WhatsApp Settings > tap Account > Privacy > Default message timer and select a duration.



 

2. WhatsApp Encrypted Backups.

It's recommended that you use end-to-end encrypted backup with either a password of your choice or a 64-digit encryption key that only you know. Neither WhatsApp nor your backup service provider will be able to read your backups or access the key required to unlock it.


Turn on end-to-end encrypted backup

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Tap Chats > Chat Backup > End-to-end Encrypted Backup.

  3. Tap Turn On, then follow the prompts to create a password or key.

  4. Tap Create, and wait for WhatsApp to prepare your end-to-end encrypted backup. You might need to connect to a power source.

Note: You won’t be able to restore your backup if you lose your WhatsApp chats and forget your password or key. WhatsApp can’t reset your password or restore your backup for you.


Turn off end-to-end encrypted backup

  1. Open Settings.

  2. Tap Chats > Chat Backup > End-to-end Encrypted Backup.

  3. Tap Turn Off.

  4. Enter your password.

  5. Confirm you want to turn off encrypted backup by tapping Turn Off.


 


3.View Once Photos and Videos on WhatsApp

With this feature, you can now send photos and videos that disappear after the recipient opens them once. Please update WhatsApp to the latest version available for your device in order to use view once.


Good to know!

  • Media will not be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery.

  • Once you send a view once photo or video, you won’t be able to view it again.

  • You can’t forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with view once media enabled.

  • You can only see if a recipient has opened a view once photo or video if they have read receipts turned on.

  • If you don’t open the photo or video within 14 days of it being sent, the media will expire from the chat.

  • You must select view once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video.

  • View once media can be restored from backup if the message is unopened at the time of back up. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.


How to send and open view once media on: Android | iPhone | KaiOS | Web and Desktop




8 views0 comments